Adventure Awaits

Books

Books by A.M. Morgen

The Inventors at No. 8

Brimming with mystery and treasure, this action-packed tale sends a boy in need of luck and girl in need of a friend on an adventure that will change their lives forever. Meet George, the third Lord of Devonshire and the unluckiest boy in London. Why is George so unlucky? First, he’s an orphan. Second, unless he sells everything, he’s about to lose his house. So when his family’s last heirloom, a priceless map to the Star of Victory (a unique gem said to bring its owner success in any battle) is stolen by a nefarious group of criminals, George knows that there is no one less lucky-or more alone-than he is.

That is until Ada Byron, the future Countess of Lovelace, bursts into his life. She promises to help George recover his family legacy, and is determined to find her own father along the way–all in a flying machine she built herself. Joined by a mischievous orangutan and the long-lost son of an infamous pirate, Ada and George take off on a cross-continent journey through the skies that will change their lives, and perhaps the world, forever.

Amazon | Goodreads | Indiebound

Signed copies available through Quail Ridge Books

Price: $16.99

Page Count: 352

ISBN-13: 9780316471497


The breathless plot is jam-packed with roguish thieves, tantalizing clues, and mild intrigue, and the narrative is filled with wry humor and kindness as George gradually gives up his self-centered sense of doom. ... A pleasing adventure.
— Kirkus Reviews

This lively adventure imagines Ada Byron Lovelace, the notable scientist, as a dauntless young girl. A great inclusion in STEM-focused fiction collections.
— School Library Journal

INVENTORS_2_cover.jpg

The Inventors and the Lost Island

Get ready for heart-pounding action, mystery, and hijinks in the thrilling sequel to The Inventors at No. 8!

Things are finally looking up for George, the 3rd Lord of Devonshire. Not only did he and his friends outwit a nefarious criminal organization, the extremely rare (and extremely valuable) mushrooms growing in his attic ensure he'll never need money again. After years of misery, George is no longer the unluckiest boy in London. Nothing could go wrong...

Until Don Nadie, the leader of the Society of Nobodies, moves in next door with his sights set on George...and everything goes wrong.

Overnight, George finds himself framed for poisoning the king (a crime he most assuredly did not commit) and once again on the run with his best friend Ada Byron, the future Countess of Lovelace. Together, they must navigate the high seas in Ada's latest invention, a submersible mechanical whale, all while trying to stay one step ahead of their enemies. Chased to the ends of the earth, it's up to George, Ada, and their friends to clear the Devonshire name – and maybe even save the world.

In this rollicking sequel, author A.M. Morgen raises the stakes and delivers a humor- and heart-filled story sure to appeal to fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Inquisitor's Tale.

Coming Spring 2019

ISBN-13:  9780316471534